Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Oracle Display parent, child, grandchild hierarchy (19.2)
Oracle Display parent, child, grandchild hierarchy [message #685286] Sat, 04 December 2021 13:58 Go to next message
Unclefool
I had a requirement to delete grandchildren rows, child rows and then a parent row from multiple tables. So I put together the following, which appears to work fine.

I suspect a dynamic mechanism would be better so the code could be shared in any database but that is out of my league as I'm not a developer.

create table parent (
  id NUMBER(10),
  value      varchar2(30),
constraint parent_pk primary key (id)
);

CREATE TABLE child
( id NUMBER(10) not null,
value NUMBER(10) not null,
constraint child_pk primary key (id,value),
CONSTRAINT parent_child_fk
FOREIGN KEY (id)
REFERENCES parent(id)
ON DELETE CASCADE
);

CREATE TABLE grandchild
constraint grandchild_pk primary key (id,value),
CONSTRAINT child_grandchild_fk
FOREIGN KEY (id)
REFERENCES parent(id)
ON DELETE CASCADE
);

insert into parent values (1,'a');
insert into parent values (2,'b');
insert into parent values (3,'c');

insert into child  values (1,1);
insert into child  values (1,2);
insert into child  values (1,3);
insert into child  values (2,1);
insert into child  values (2,2);
insert into child  values (2,3);
insert into child  values (3,1);
insert into child  values (3,2);
insert into child  values (3,3);

insert into grandchild  values (1,1);
insert into grandchild  values (1,2);
insert into grandchild  values (1,3);
insert into grandchild  values (2,1);
insert into grandchild  values (2,2);
insert into grandchild  values (2,3);
insert into grandchild  values (3,1);
insert into grandchild  values (3,2);
insert into grandchild  values (3,3);

DELETE from parent where value = 'a';