Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Trigger Cuasing error ORA-06502 and ORA-01403
Trigger Cuasing error ORA-06502 and ORA-01403 [message #170223] Tue, 02 May 2006 14:30 Go to next message
annagel
Just to preface this I am somewhat new to making forms and am kind of learning things as I go. I have at this point been working with triggers and layouts. My layout is working well enough triggers though are causing me some problems. I am getting the following error message just about every time I write a trigger so I am getting the feeling I am doing something fundamentally wrong. Like there is something I am just not getting because I am getting this error on the simplest of actions.

The error:

FRM-40735: WHEN-VALIDATE-ITEM trigger raised unhandled exception ORA-06502.
--------------------------------------------------------------
ORA-01403: no data found

The trigger is this:

cs3_prog.set_date_mode;

this calls the following procedure in the package cs3_prog:

procedure set_date_mode IS
BEGIN
:cs3_data.street := 'something';
end;

this in the past did a lot more but I kept throwing stuff out to see what could have been causing the problem. This does actually work if I ok through the first error message and then try entering data again into the field the trigger is tied to. On this second firing of the trigger is does successfully alter the value.

Any help pointing out what I could be doing wrong here would be appreciated. Just the fact that this is happening every time I create a trigger and it seems to happen regardless of what I have the trigger doing leads me to believe I have something fundamentally wrong and I would love to have it set straight.

thanks
Andrew
Re: Trigger Cuasing error ORA-06502 and ORA-01403 [message #170349 is a reply to message #170223] Wed, 03 May 2006 07:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
Please put this code into your Forms package
procedure set_date_mode IS
BEGIN